Department of Energy Headquarters

Washington, DC

January 11, 2024

7:30 AM-8:30 AMRegistration, Breakfast, and Networking
8:30 AM-8:35 AM

Welcome to ARPA-E

Dr. Jenifer Shafer, Associate Director of Technology, ARPA-E

8:35 AM-8:50 AM

Meeting Introduction

Dr. Robert Ledoux, Program Director, ARPA-E

8:50 AM-9:20 AM

Project Management Overview & Technical Expectations,

Ms. Catherine Good and Dr. Lipi Acharya, ARPA-E SETAs, Booz Allen Hamilton


9:20 AM-9:50 AM

Technology to Market Presentation and LOCOMOTIVES Lessons Learned

Dr. Apoorv Agarwal, Tech-to-Market Advisor, ARPA-E; Dr. George List, North Carolina State University; Mr. Jason Lustbader, National Renewable Energy Laboratory; Dr. Hani Mahmassani, Northwestern University; Dr. Michael Yukish, Applied Research Laboratory/Pennsylvania State University

9:50 AM-10:05 AM

Legal Considerations: Intellectual Property, Data, and Reporting

Mr. Geoff Goode, Deputy Chief Counsel, ARPA-E

10:05 AM-10:20 AMCoffee Break


10:20 AM-11:20 AM

Team Presentations

10:20 AM - Optimal Global Planning tool for freight Transportation (OPT-GPT), Page Kyle, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

10:35 AM - INFORMES: INtermodal Freight Optimization for a Resilient Mobility Energy SystemKyungsoo Jeong, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

10:50 AM - IMAGINED: Inter Modal Analytics for Green Infrastructure Network Energy DecarbonizationHani Mahmassani, Northwestern University

11:05 AM - Q&A Session I

11:20 AM-11:25 AMBreak


11:25 AM-12:25 PM

Keynote Presentation - Intermodal, Trains and Trucks: Opportunities & Challenges in Transportation

Dr. Robert E. Martinez, VP Freight & Economic Development, Moffatt & Nichol (former VP at Norfolk Southern; former Virginia Transportation Secretary; former MARAD Deputy Administrator; and former Associate Deputy Secretary of Transportation and Director, Office of Intermodalism at USDOT)

12:25 PM-1:25 PMLunch & Networking


1:25 PM-2:40 PM

Team Presentations

1:25 PM - Integrated Intermodal Freight Models and Tools for Efficiency and Resiliency, Yanfeng Ouyang, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

1:40 PM - A Cognitive Freight Transportation Digital Twin for Resiliency and Emission Control Through Optimizing Intermodal Logistics (RECOIL), Xueping Li, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

1:55 PM - A Decarbonized and Resilient Intermodal Freight Transportation (DRIFT) Modeling Platform for Intermodal Logistical Decisions under Uncertainty, Kuilin Zhang, Michigan Technological University

2:10 PM - Intermodal Routing and Environmental Impact Analysis Tool (IREIAT), Nicholas Padon, Oliver Wyman

2:25 PM - Q&A Session II

2:40 PM-2:45 PMBreak
2:45 PM-3:45 PMOpen discussion on the next steps
3:45 PM-4:00 PMWrap-up

Attendee List



Alex Prather


Alexis Amos

Booz Allen Hamilton

Alicia Birky

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Andre Tok

University of California, Irvine

Apoorv Agarwal

Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy

Bob Ledoux

Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy

Catherine Good

Booz Allen Hamilton

Cha-Chi Fan

Department of Transportation/Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Craig Philip

Vanderbilt University

George List

North Carolina State University

Gideon Bass

Booz Allen Hamilton

Greg Woolen


Hani Mahmassani

Northwestern University Transportation Center

Hyeonsup Lim

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Jason Lustbader

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Kuilin Zhang

Michigan Technological University

Kyungsoo Jeong

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Lipi Acharya

Booz Allen Hamilton

Marc Meketon

Oliver Wyman

Marty Schlenker

Parallel Systems

Matthew Schabas

Oliver Wyman

Michael Yukish

Pennsylvania State University

Mike Swaney

BNSF Railway

Mirjana Marden

Booz Allen Hamilton

Monique Stinson

Department of Transportation/Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Mustafa Camur

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Natalia Zuniga-Garcia

Argonne National Laboratory

Natalie Popovich

Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Nazib Siddique

Argonne National Laboratory

Nicholas Padon

Oliver Wyman

Page Kyle

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Phani Raj

US Department of Transportation

Prasad Gupte

US Department of Transportation

Rakesh Radhakrishnan

Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy

Ravi Palakodeti


Robert Martinez

Moffatt & Nichol

Saleh Mousa

Booz Allen Hamilton

Shirlyn (Xi-Ying) Zhang

American Bureau of Shipping

Tim Colling

Michigan Technological University

Timothy Gerald

Booz Allen Hamilton

Whitney White

Booz Allen Hamilton

Xueping Li

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Yanfeng Ouyang

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Zachary Berquist

Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy

Zeyu Liu

West Virginia University