Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Dr. Sonja Glavaski

ARPA-E Program Director Sonja Glavaski

Dr. Sonja Glavaski currently serves as a Program Director at the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E). Her focus at ARPA-E includes data analytics, and distributed control and optimization in complex, cyber-physical, and networked systems with applications to control, monitoring, and security of energy systems.

During her 20-plus-year career, Glavaski has contributed significantly to technical advancements in numerous product areas, including propulsion systems, hybrid vehicles, energy efficient building HVAC/R systems, and aircraft systems. Prior to joining ARPA-E, Glavaski served as Control Systems Group Leader at United Technologies Research Center, where she made significant technical contributions to UTC’s world-class product portfolio, advancing new knowledge and technology in the area of control & intelligent systems. Glavaski has spearheaded the introduction and maturation of systematic and rigorous processes, as well as algorithms that maintain optimal performance at the system level while adapting to system and environment changes. She has also led the development and implementation of advanced diagnostics and control methodology and tools that are setting new standards across UTC and being adopted on multiple high-visibility programs. Her group specialized in advanced control & optimization; physics based & data driven modeling and diagnostics; and distributed system design.

Prior to being at UTRC, Glavaski led key programs at Eaton Innovation Center and Honeywell Labs. She received the Honeywell Aerospace Technical Achievement Award. 

Glavaski has leveraged her research expertise to provide significant leadership in professional societies. A Senior Member of IEEE, she served as the IEEE Control Systems Society Women in Control Chair. Her research findings have appeared in more than 35 publications. Glavaski received her M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology.

Email Address: