2015 ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit

ARPA-E held its sixth annual ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit February 9 - February 11, 2015 at the Gaylord Convention Center just outside Washington, D.C. The Summit brought together thought leaders from academia, business, and government to discuss cutting-edge energy issues and facilitate relationships to help move technologies into the marketplace.

ARPA-E's annual Summit features keynote speeches on the future of energy technology and attend practical seminars on core concepts and skills for transitioning breakthrough technologies into successful commercial products. The Summit's main event is the Technology Showcase, which features breakthrough technology developments, entrepreneurs and researchers ready to collaborate, and decision makers looking to invest. The Summit's Government Agency Networking Program allows attendees to meet with key representatives from the Department of Energy, Department of Defense, and other government agencies who are actively supporting energy technology development.

Technology discussions with ARPA-E Program Directors are available below:

ARPA-E Program Director/Fellow Fast Pitch
Dr. Patrick McGrath, Program Director, "Can We Have Better Catalysis without Better Catalysts?"
Dr. David Brown, Fellow, "Engineering Agriculture for Profitable Carbon Capture”
Dr. Mike Haney, Program Director, "Can Integrated Micro-optics Transform Flat Panel Solar Cells?"
Dr. Ramon Gonzalez, Program Director, "Can Biological Conversion of Methane Facilitate Small Scale Deployment?"
Dr. James Klausner, Program Director, "Transforming Energy Efficient and Clean Metal Production and Recycling"

ARPA-E Program Director/Fellow Fast Pitch
Dr. Tim Heidel, Program Director, "Optimization of Electricity Transmission Networks to Facilitate Renewables Integration"
Dr. Paul Albertus, Fellow, "Moving Ions, Moving Energy: Opportunities in Ion Conducting Layers"
Dr. Jason Rugolo, Program Director, "A Unified Transportation and Electricity Infrastructure"
Dr. Joe Cornelius, Program Director, "Accelerating Energy Crop Development"
Dr. Sonja Glavaski, Program Director, "From Local to Global: Distributed Energy Resources Integration"

ARPA-E Program Director/Fellow Fast Pitch
Dr. Howard Branz, Program Director, "No Photon Left Behind: Advanced Optics for Solar Energy and Buildings"
Dr. Mike Kane, Fellow, "Big Data—Big Decisions—Big Energy Savings”
Dr. Ping Liu, Program Director, "Heating and Cooling People Locally to Save Building Energy Use"
Dr. Eric Schiff, Program Director, "Could Advanced Technology Get Us to ‘Yes’ for Efficiency Upgrades of Single Pane Windows?"
Dr. Jonathan Burbaum, Program Director, "How Could We Improve the Energy Efficiency of Personal Transportation?"

ARPA-E Program Director/Fellow Fast Pitch
Dr. Chris Atkinson, Program Director, "Advanced Technology Engines and Powertrains: What are the Limits to Efficiency?"
Dr. Ashwin Salvi, Fellow, "Oxygen Combustion for Improved Efficiency and Emissions"
Dr. JC Zhao, Program Director, "A Natural Gas Powered Generator for Every Home"
Dr. Bryan Willson, Program Director, "Disruptive Approaches for Methane Emission Detection and Measurement"
Dr. John Lemmon, Program Director, "Distributed Generation and Storage, Delivering Energy When and Where It’s Needed”

Save the date for the 7th Annual ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit: February 22-24, 2016.

Go to the ARPA-E 2015 Energy Innovation Summit Website.