CO2 Capture Technology Meeting

The Department of Energy's National Energy Technology Laboratory (DOE/NETL) hosted the 2010 CO2 Capture Technology Meeting on September 13-17, 2010 at the Sheraton Station Square Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA. The meeting provided a public forum to present carbon dioxide (CO2) capture technology development status and accomplishments made under NETL’s Innovations for Existing Plants, Carbon Sequestration and Demonstration Programs (CCPI -Clean Coal Power Initiative and ICCS -Industrial Carbon Capture and Sequestration). In addition, ARPA-E Program Director Mark Hartney highlighted the Agency's CO2 capture portfolio. 

The ARPA-E projects highlighted at the meeting are summarized below. 

View the full meeting agenda (pdf).

View ARPA-E Program Director Mark Hartney's presentation (pdf)

ARPA-E Poster Presentations:

1. James Lalonde, Codexis Inc.

Low-Cost Biocatalyst for Acceleration of Energy Efficient CO2 Capture Solvents (pdf)

2. Kunlei Liu, University of Kentucky, Center for Applied Energy Research

A Solvent/Membrane Hybrid Post-Combustion CO2 Capture Process for Existing CoalFired Power Plants (pdf)

3. Jeffrey Long, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory 

High-Throughput Discovery of Robust Metal-Organic Frameworks for Carbon Dioxide Capture (pdf)

4. Joan Brennecke, University of Notre Dame

CO2 Capture with Ionic Liquids Involving Phase Change (pdf)

5. Larry Baxter, Sustainable Energy Solutions/Brigham Young University

Cryogenic Carbon Capture (pdf)

6. Edward Swanson and Tushar Patel, Columbia University

Chemical and Biological Catalytic Enhancement of Weathering of Silicate Minerals as Novel Carbon Capture and Storage Technology (pdf)

7. Aqil Jamal, RTI International

CO2 Binding Organic Liquids for Post-Combustion CO2 Capture (pdf)

8. Hongcai Zhou, Texas A&M University

Development Stimuli Responsive Metal-Organic Frameworks for Energy-Efficient PostCombustion CO2 Capture (pdf)

9. Fritz Simeon, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Electrochemically Mediated Separation for Carbon Capture and Mitigation (pdf)

10. Teresa Grocela, GE Global Research 

Phase Changing Absorbents for CO2 Capture (pdf)

11. Joshuah Stolaroff, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Bio-Mimetic Catalysts for Carbon Capture with Optimized System Placement (pdf)

12. David Sholl, Georgia Tech

MOF Polymer Composite Membranes for CO2 Capture From Flue Gas (pdf)

13. Kathryn A. Berchtold, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Achieving a 10,000 GPU Permenace for Post-Combustion Carbon Capture with Gelled Ionic Liquid-Based Membranes (pdf)

14. Sheng Dai, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

High Performance CO2 Scrubbing Based on Hollow Fiber-Supported Designer Ionic Liquid Sponges

15. Vladimir Balepin, ATK

A High Efficiency Inertial CO2 Extraction System – ICES (pdf)

16. Aleksandr Noy, Porifera Inc.

Carbon Nanotube Membranes for Carbon Sequestration (pdf)

17. Harry Cordatos, United Technologies Research Center

CO2 Capture with Enzyme Synthetic Analogue (pdf)

18. Wayne M. Carlson and Jitendra T. Shah, Nalco Company

Resin Wafer Electrodeionization for Flue Gas Carbon Dioxide Capture (pdf)

19. David Moore and Kai Landskron, Lehigh University

Electric Field Swing Adsorption (EFSA) for Carbon Capture Applications (pdf)

20. Fanxing Li, Ohio State University

Pilot Scale Testing of the Syngas Chemical Looping Process (pdf)