Undergrounding Workshop

Improving the Reliability and Resilience of Electric Power Distribution by Cost-Effective Undergrounding and High-Performance Installation and Maintenance Technologies 

2022 New Program Development Workshop 

Tuesday, July 19th and Wednesday, July 20th, 2022 
Marriott Metro Center Hotel, Washington, DC 

General Sessions will be held in Salons A&B 

The Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy (ARPA-E) hosted a workshop to support the development of a new ARPA-E program that will transform the way underground distribution power lines are built and maintained over the current state-of-the-art for cost effectiveness and high reliability. Accomplishing the objective will be done by encouraging team building and providing a forum for those involved in power grid civil construction and maintenance, regulators, and peers to exchange experiences, best practices, ideas, and metrics.

Agenda: Tuesday, July 19th, 2022


Event (Tuesday, July 19th, 2022) 

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM 

Breakfast, Registration, and Networking

9:00 AM - 9:10 AM 

Welcome, Introduction to ARPA-E, and Undergrounding Opening Remarks

Dr. Jennifer Gerbi, Acting Director, ARPA-E 

9:10 AM - 9:25 AM 

The Vision, Problem Framing, Workshop Goals

Dr. Philseok Kim, Program Director, ARPA-E 

9:25 AM - 9:50 AM 

(Keynote) Rethinking Resilience – The Underground Option 

Mr. Drew McGuire, Director of Substations, Distribution, and T&D Environment R&D, EPRI 

9:50 AM - 10:10 AM 

What is the Value of Undergrounding? A Utility Company’s Perspective

Mr. Bill Fairechio, R&D Section Manager, Consolidated Edison 

10:10 AM - 10:30 AM 

Break (20 mins)

10:30 AM - 10:50 AM 

Recent Technology Progress in Undergrounding - Power Delivery Intelligence Initiative (PDi2)

Mr. Ben Lanz, Director, Strategy & Development, PDi2/IMCORP 

10:50 AM - 11:10 AM 

Trenchless Technology: Trends and Opportunities

Dr. John C. Matthews, Professor, Louisiana Tech University 

11:10 AM - 11:30 AM 

Advanced Quantum Sensing Technologies and Underground Utility Detection 

Dr. Neil Claussen, Sandia National Laboratory 

11:30 AM - 11:50 AM 

Next Generation Technologies to Predict and Locate Cable Failures

Dr. Cynthia Furse, Professor, University of Utah 

11:50 AM - 12:50 PM 


12:15 PM - 2:05 PM 

Networking Fast Pitch (lunch continues)

2:05 PM - 2:30 PM 

Topic 1: Medium Voltage Underground Cable Machine Splicing and Its Requirements

Dr. Sathish Ranganathan, Director - R&D, Innovation & Sustainability, Prysmian Group

Topic 2: Automated MV Cable Field Splicing – Opportunities and Challenges

Mr. Jon Kuriloff, R&D Project Manager, ULC Robotics 

2:30 PM - 2:45 PM 

Break (15 mins)

2:45 PM - 4:15 PM 

Breakout Session #1: Program Direction

Group A: Grand Ballroom Salon C

Group B: Junior Ballroom Salon 1

Group C: Junior Ballroom Salon 2

Group D: Junior Ballroom Salon 3

Group E: Salons A & B

4:15 PM - 4:35 PM 

UNDERMINER Program - Highlights and Lessons Learned

Dr. Andrew Nuss, Program Manager, Tactical Technologies Office, DARPA 

4:35 PM - 4:55 PM 

Duquesne Light’s Underground Electric Cable Innovation Challenge: Highlights, Next Steps

Mr. Josh Gould, Director of Innovation, Duquesne Light Company 

4:55 PM - 5:00 PM 

Day 1 Wrap-up  

Dr. Philseok Kim, Program Director, ARPA-E 


 Day 1 End. Dinner on your own. 

Agenda: Wednesday, July 20th, 2022


Event (Wednesday, July 20th, 2022) 

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM 

Breakfast, Registration, and Networking 

9:00 AM - 9:10 AM 

Day 1 Recap, Day 2 Introduction  

Dr. Philseok Kim, Program Director, ARPA-E 

9:10 AM - 9:40 AM 

Day 1 Breakout Group Report Back (6 minutes per group)

Group A: Program Direction Report Back

Group B: Program Direction Report Back

Group C: Program Direction Report Back

Group D: Program Direction Report Back

Group E: Program Direction Report Back

9:40 AM - 11:10 AM 

Breakout Session #2: Technical Topics and Metrics

Group A (underground construction): Grand Ballroom Salon C

Group B (underground construction and survey/mapping): Junior Ballroom Salon 1

Group C (automated cable splicing): Junior Ballroom Salon 2

Group D (fault prediction and location): Junior Ballroom Salon 3

Group E (fault prediction and location): Salons A&B

11:10 AM - 11:30 AM 

Break (20 mins)

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM 

Utility Panel Discussion - T2M Requirements for the Adoption of New Technologies  

Moderator: Dr. Rakesh Radhakrishnan, T2M Advisor, ARPA-E 

Ms. Maggie Chow, Department Manager, Consolidated Edison 

Dr. Theresa Christian, Director, Technology & Innovation, Exelon 
Mr. Jim Gill, Director, Engineering Standards, Pacific Gas and Electric 

Mr. Josh Gould, Director of Innovation, Duquesne Light Company 

Mr. Mike Fetto, Distribution Lead Project Manager, Florida Power & Light 

12:30 PM - 12:40 PM 

Closing Remarks 

Dr. Philseok Kim, Program Director, ARPA-E 


Fast Pitch Presentations



Mike Byram & Adam Bates

Vermeer Corporation

Maggie Chow & Luis Jerez

Con Edison

Neil Claussen

Sandia National Laboratories

Keryl Cosenzo & Michael House


Robert Duckworth & Ben LaRiviere

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

John Fluharty

Mears Group

Cynthia Furse

University of Utah & LiveWire Innovation

Jim Gill

Pacific Gas & Electric

Juliet Gopinath & Greg Rieker

University of Colorado Boulder

Doug Gundel

3M Electrical Markets Division

Glen Irvin Jr. & Matteo Pasquali

Rice University

Tim Kuhl

Edison Electric Institute

Sathish Kumar & Alex Noriega

Prysmian Group

Peter Larsen

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Silviu Livescu

University of Texas at Austin

Mark Melni

Melni Technologies

Michael Messerly

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Mike Mooney

Colorado School of Mines

Mark Ortiz

Kaleidoscope Innovations

Bryan Palmintier

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Edward Richards


Gregg Rivoir

Underground Solutions

Martin Rylance

THREE60 Energy

Tomonori Saito

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Surya Santoso

University of Texas at Austin

Anna Scaglione & Mike Bloomberg

Jacobs Institute at Cornell Tech

Aalap Shah

ULC Technologies

Yogev Shifman & Bret Simon


Yong-June Shin

Yonsei University Energy Informatics Lab

Ginny Spilman

ADL Ventures

Jens Sterum


Michael "Mischa" Steurer & Giancarlo Montanari

Florida State University Center for Advanced Power Systems

Mattewos Tefferi

G&W Electric Co.

Kyle Thomas


Deepak Trivedi

GE Research

Dmitri Tsentalovich


Brad Wham

University of Colorado Boulder

Lei Xing

Raytheon Technologies Research Center

Yue Xu

University of Texas at Austin Center for Electromechanics


For any presentations included or linked on this website, the views and opinions expressed are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the United States Government or any agency thereof, or its contractors or subcontractors. The organization names used on this site or in the linked presentations are the trademarks of their respective holders. Reference or depiction herein to any specific organization, device, product, process, or service by trade name, trademark, manufacturer, or otherwise, does not necessarily constitute or imply its endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by the United States Government or any agency thereof or its contractors or subcontractors.